Sometimes, I Read

So, for my English class, I had to read a book called A Wrinkle in Time by Madeleine L’Engle that is 211 pages long, and let me tell you, I very much enjoyed this book.

A Wrinkle in Time was a book I read very long ago, probably in middle school or so, but I remembered the very surreal experience the characters went on, so I decided to give the book a reread and see how different the experience was.

WrinkleInTimePBA1.jpg
Thi is the cover of the book as found in the library

 

Image result for a wrinkle in time cover
This is one of the older versions of the cover

So, for recommending this book I am going to give some details. To start off, the overall theme of the book has a lot to do with the structure of the universe and space.

“They are very young. And on their earth, as they call it, they never communicate with other planets. They revolve about all alone in space.”
“Oh,” the thin beast said. “Aren’t they lonely?”

The book starts off with the main characters, Mrs. Murry, Meg Murry, Charles Wallace Murry, and Calvin O’Keefe, being introduced to the main supporting characters Mrs.Whatsit, Mrs. Which, and Mrs. Who. The plot of the story centralizes around the disappearance of Mr. Murry and the attempt of the three kids, Calvin, Meg, and Charles Wallace, to retrieve him and save the universe with the help of three supporting characters Mrs. Whatsit, Mrs. Which, and Mrs. Who. The only information that I would consider to not be a spoiler is the fact that the Murry family tends to be exceptionally smart with the outlier of Charles Wallace. He is much smarter than most of theother characters at the age of 5.

There are several reasons why I would recommend this book. The first is its strong themes. Over the course of the book the author presents several different sets of themes that are formed through different scenarios that are set up by the characters mode of travel and by their struggle against the main antagonist. The themes can range from love and neglect to things as big as the meaning of life and good and evil.

For a scale I would give this book a solid 8/10 due to the fact that sometimes it seems like the author is trying too hard to make things vivid and surreal. But for that experience this book has done really well.

Words 404

Author: collegeanimeguy

I'm a college student and maybe one day I'll start a real blog but right now this is for school

9 thoughts on “Sometimes, I Read”

  1. Neat! I haven’t read Wrinkle – it’s been on my to-read list for ages now, I just haven’t gotten around to it. I liked that you recognized themes and that you re-read it from childhood. Reading a book when you’re an adult is so different from prior readings; you get something totally different out of it each time.

    Like

  2. I have heard of this book, but I did not know much about it. Reading your synopsis I thought the names of the characters were quite funny. It sounds like it would be a fun book to read.

    Like

  3. I’ve heard of this book before but never really thought of reading it until now. This review definitely piqued my interest. I also would like to know the significance to the character names.

    Like

Leave a Reply

